Review of the Kuretake No. 8 Fountain Hair Brush Pen #zentangle


I love brush pens, and recently I purchased a Kuretake No. 8 Fountain Hair Brush Pen.  A friend gave me a beautiful handmade journal.  I’m not sure what the paper is other than thick like watercolor paper, but softer with less tooth.  It’s probably handmade, and the moment I touched it, I knew it was made for the Kuretake.I love brush pens, and recently I purchased a Kuretake No. 8 Fountain Hair Brush Pen.  A friend gave me a beautiful handmade journal.  I’m not sure what the paper is other than thick like watercolor paper, but softer with less tooth.  It’s probably handmade, and the moment I touched it, I knew it was made for the Kuretake.

I have mixed feelings about Kuretake’s No. 8 Fountain Hair Brush pen.  It draws a beautiful line, and with the slightest of pressure you can vary the width.  The ink is not water-proof, a possible disaster for the klutz that is me, but it also means I can do some nice washes.  My real problem is with the length.  It’s the longest pen I’ve ever had, especially if you cap the pen.   I don’t, because it is so uncomfortable in my small hand, and I worry that I’ll lose the cap.

Still.  You can do such beautiful things with this pen.  In many ways, it is more like a brush, and I’ve been experimenting with holding it in different ways, just as I would a brush. I suspect that with time, I will figure out how to use it comfortably.

The pen uses ink cartridges, which I like because they don’t create a mess, but which I will have to purchase online.

The proof is in the pudding, they say.  I did two drawings in my new journal and I love them.  So my feelings about the Kuretake No. 8 Fountain Hair Brush Pen are mixed, but the love comes out on top.

 

After drawing the tangles, I went over the lines with a waterbrush to create washes with the ink.

Here I used Lyra Rembrandt color pencils to color in after I tangled.  The Kuretake works well with the pencils.  If you color over the ink, it takes on a tint of color while remaining dark, so you can play with the values.

Published by Life Imitates Doodles Art, Reviews & Tutorials

Artist Ambassador for Zebra Pens. I'm a self-taught artist who dances about with all sorts of artistic mediums. My main loves are Watercolor, Zentangle and Ballpoint pen. The subjects of my work are many and varied and change at whim. I'm a little bit crazy, but doesn't that come with being an artist? At my Life Imitates Doodles Blog, I post a list of resource links for Tangles, Tutorials and Giveaways two times a week. I also write reviews, hold giveaways and share my art work.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.