Saved or Not Saved? #Watercolor #LineAndWash #MixedMedia


I saved the worst for last.  I was trying to used the negative painting technique.  Usually, I can just start with a vague idea in mind, and ideas start pouring in as I paint.  Not this time, lol.

Line and wash and some Gellyroll pen seemed like the best way to save this.

Using a Pigma Micron, I picked out outlines of tree trunks and foliage.  NOTE: I did this on Cold Press Arches watercolor, which has a rough enough texture that it RUINS the fabric tip of a Micron pen.  I always save pens that are running out of ink for jobs like this, because they’ll be worthless after the line work is done.

Then I went through the painting with the Micron and added texture and shading.  I think I could have stopped here, but I knew I could add some interest with Gellyroll gel ink pens.

I couldn’t get a very good photograph or scan, though for once, I did capture some of special effects.  Too much so.  The Silver Shadow Green ink only stands out like this with certain lighting.

I used Stardust blues, purples and greens in the water, and in real life, the water now sparkles as water does in the light.  I used flourescent vermillion to add a sunlight glow, and metallic purple for shadows.  The Silver Shadow Green gives a phosphorescent look that changes as you move the painting in the light–almost like those 3D stickers.

This would qualify as Mixed Media at this point.  It doesn’t look too good in the photo, but I think it’s much improved in the real thing.  Did I save it?  Hmmmm.  It’s still not one of my favorites.

 

One comment

  1. Jane · December 18, 2015

    I like both the original and the finished piece, although in different ways. Sometimes it seems it would be fun to have two or three identical paintings to experiment with.

Leave a Reply

