Journal52: How Does Your Garden Grow #Journal52 #ArtJournaling #ArtJournal


I decided to experiment with the thirteenth Journal52 prompt.

I’m not much of a gardener.  I much prefer drawing and painting flowers to growing them.  Nonetheless, I had some new brush pens to try out (which I hope to review sooner or later) and I decided to give them a go.

My brush pens were in spring colors, but I wanted to bring my black thumb into it, because that black thumb is just so me.  I used my Pilot New Brush pen to outline the flowers.  I knew the Pilot pen ink was not waterproof, but it was even less waterproof than I realized.

I could hardly add the other color without getting the black into it, so there’s lot of white space here, and all told, my garden is a hot mess.

But I always try to dwell on things I like about a piece, rather than the things I don’t.  After all, the the things I like are the things I want to remember–the elements that will improve future work.

So, first off–I think the overall sense of light, the darker colors next to lighter colors, the smeary grayish tones give the impression of a garden just after a heavy rain.  I like the base drawing, and I like the way the puffy white flowers came out.

I’ve learned how I can gray-out the colors from these pens, and that will come in handy from time to time.

So how does my garden grow?  It needs a little weeding, but it grows just fine.

One comment

  1. Kelly · April 8, 2014

    This is really pretty! I like what you did here!

Leave a Reply

